What are some unique or valuable traits that you offer to the world and/or culture of classical music?

unique

A desire to create new music. An ability to improvise that still is lacking in many professional classical musicians. I’ve had many styles of learning and been involved in other genres outside classical music.
I…well look here are those anxieties. In a field where all my auditions feature about 500+ auditioners in just my voice type alone, it’s hard to say I have anything too unique. I come from a strong southern folk and Irish folk background and my most unique trait is probably that my voice does not fit in traditional voice fachs, (unique timbre in respect to my range and size) which can lend new colors
I’m really not certain about this yet. That’s a huge body of water with a lot of fish in it!
I love music. That’s not true of many professionals.
The ability to make classical music relevant for non-classical audiences.
I like to think that I work well with others, so playing with others in collaborative roles is easier for me. Since I have also struggled with the mental doubts that are huge obstacles to creating art, I think I’m in a better place to understand and help those who are dealing with the same issues and insecurities. Confidence comes more easily to some people than others, and I think many people often overlook the fact that these personal fears can be subdued through strategic approaches and practice. Hopefully I can explore this more and come from a compassionate perspective to help people who do struggle with these issues to realize their full potential.
Improvisational and sacred background.
I can’t offer anything so unique that no other musician possesses, besides my entire self.
*Professionalism – the ability to show up on time, prepare ahead of time, work well with others, respond to e-mails in a timely fashion, and generally go above and beyond what is expected of me.
*A wide range of skills – I am able not only to play well, but market myself, network, attract clients/students, etc. I also am able to play a wide range of styles and genres.
I’m not sure how to answer this question…I like pop music and I guess during the time I’ve studied classical music I’ve been able to incorporate a bit of my pop music to it, even with things like theory and dictation. But I’m not completely sure…
Extreme attention to detail (often sacrificing appreciation of the big picture, on the flip side)
Undying love for music from all periods and a desire to interpret in my own fashion
Drive to become a great teacher and help students to see classical music as something worth lifelong devotion
I am always listening to and watching tons of different kinds of music and performances (visual art, dance, jazz, singers, opera, ballet, all kinds of pop music), from which I draw inspiration and find new ways to improve my own playing and approach to music. Enthusiasm, openness, and a passion for reaching out to new audiences, especially young ones.
A lot of people in the classical world are “good players,” meaning that there is no shortage of talent; the way I’m different is that I approach every playing situation with an attitude of cooperation, which makes me easy (and I hope, enjoyable) to work with.
I seek to bring humor and charm to my performances 🙂 I also compose and arrange, and I perform modern music (good modern music). I also try to show what is great and unusual in any piece I play.
People are so hard on themselves in regards to their skills, technique, and performance. Everyone has their own sets of strengths and weaknesses–some were born to perform, some were born to compose, some were born to teach. There will always be someone better or more talented, so we really just need to release ourselves from this vicious little cycle. A little friendly competition is a good motivator every once in a while, but it should never be the sole factor in bettering yourself as a musician. It’s so easy to lose sight of everything you’ve worked towards and the person you were when you get involved in these petty things. “Better is the enemy of good.”
Enthusiasm, open to try new things, I really believe in outreach
100% confidence and perseverance in eventually producing something accessible and highly effective in helping pianist of all ages develop better technique to further their musical growth.
Interest in music history, and the connections both historical and present between art, music, literature, and other aspects of culture
I feel that, as a primarily electronics and dance based musician I am able to bring to the table a mindset that most composers and musicians aren’t necessarily familiar with. In using timbres and ideas more closely acquainted with genres such as techno and electro, which some classical minded artists find to be a “bad” sound, I feel like I am (hopefully) helping to open up the realm of classical composition to a more modern way of thinking.
-an emphasis on early music
-extensive study and experience in collaborative music, instrumental and largely vocal
-experience teaching a full studio of 15+ students
I want to show people the beauty of classical music and that anyone can enjoy it
Cultural exchange
Every song is open to your own interpretation and has some wiggle room as far as making it relate to something in your own life.
Exposure and integration of non-western art and philosophical thought; taking my passion for classical music and extending that and such elements into the broader world of music outside the classical realm.
Leave a Reply

